Nuts4makeup's Weblog



Skincare – What To Do??

My skincare routine has been going through a huge overhaul lately as I’m researching online different approaches to getting rid of acne. Recently, in the past year or so I’ve been battling cystic acne and I’m no stranger to pimples because I suffered with it throughout middle school and some of high school, but got it under control using a benzoyl peroxide regimen and my skin was clear until I hit college. During college, I’m not sure what happened, but my face was not happy with me. I started breaking out, and I resorted to those 3 step acne kits because in theory, they should work right? Because it’s removing dirt, oil and all that jazz. But it totally wasn’t working for me and I kept fooling myself that if I just gave it more time, it’s going to work. It wasn’t until my face was bombarded with huge painful cysts that appeared every week that I looked for a better solution.

I started doing the Oil Cleansing Method [OCM] which worked to stop my cystic acne! HOWEVER, gave me a new set of problems. Now instead of cystic acne, I had small whiteheads crop up, which wasn’t the case before. It’s probably a result of oil residue being left on my skin, which is odd because I feel like I’m taking it all off with the washcloth, but I guess I could be wrong. So once again I’m looking to modify my routine since I know that OCM works, but now I need to find a way to prevent the whiteheads. My questions to you are:

What skincare routine do you find works for you?

Do you feel you need more than one moisturizer to get the job done? [ie. creams, lotion, spray essence, spray hydrators, oils..]

Toner: yay or nay?

I really want to figure this whole skincare business out and get my skin looking GOOD! And just for the heck of it, here’s proof that I had pimples plus oily skin [EW!]

yellowpimple

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christiana says:

    Hey dear. If you really think that it’s because you have residue left over, I think you should think of getting a good toner to use after washing your face. 🙂 You could try making your own Apple Cider Vinegar toner, or buy a hydrosol or hydrating mist from the Garden of Wisdom. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

