Nuts4makeup's Weblog



Craftstore Brushes

Most of the makeup brushes I have are from Michael’s, they’re a lot cheaper than buying “real” makeup brushes and they always have a 40% off coupon in the sunday ads every week! They have Loew Cornell brushes at Walmart as well that come in packs. The brushes from Walmart are different from the ones that I use, but you could check them out and see if any of them look useful. Here comes a crapload of pictures!…

Photobucket
Royal Soft Grip size 5 SG 1250. I use this for a crease brush, it isn’t the best, but it’ll do until I get a better crease or blender brush.

Photobucket
Royal Soft Grip size M SG999. I use this as a fluffy eyeshadow brush. TIP: Use flatter [shading] brushes when you want to have more color intensity versus fluffy brushes which don’t pick up or deposit so much color at first]. It’s great for highlighting or blending.

Photobucket
LC American Painter size 1/4 4400 Angular. My angled eyeliner brush. Great for winging out that eyeliner!

Photobucket
Photobucket
LC American Painter size 0 4000 Round. Also for eyeliner and getting more precise lines.

Photobucket
Photobucket

LC 270 Maxine’s Mop in sizes [from top to bottom] 1/2, 1/4, 3/8. These are the shader brushes I mentioned earlier. The big ones I use to apply base or highlighter on the brow bone. The middle brush is for basic eyeshadow application. I use the small one to apply highlighter to the inner corners of my eyes.

Photobucket
Royal size 3/4 Soft Grip SG 950. For application of liquid foundation.

Photobucket
Winsor & Newton size 3. This is my favorite! I use it for blush, it’s made with white goat hair and its soooo soft. It looks like a makeup brush too haha.

Photobucket
I know this isn’t a brush, but it’s related. I use this as a pallete to put my mineral foundation on instead of swirling it into the cap. I also use the wells to put mixing medium in when I do my eyeliner and whatnot. I got this at Michael’s also I think it was either 99 cents or 1.99. All of the smaller brushes go for around 2-4 dollars, but you get an extra discount with the coupon! The discount only applied to one item, but you can choose which item to apply the discount to.

I got the idea to buy makeup brushes from the craftstore from Enkore Makeup. Here’s the video!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Royal Brushes from Michael’s « Nuts4makeup’s Weblog pingbacked on 8 years, 4 months ago

Comments

  1. * Vicki says:

    I have 5 craft store paint brushes. 2 of them I thought I’d use for lips or something, but I actually don’t usually bother with using a brush for lips. I have 10/0 American Painter 4300 Shader (bought for lips); 1/8 Royal Soft-Grip SG393 (lips); M Royal Soft-Grip SG999 (I use this every day as a general eyeshadow brush, and I’ve heard it’s a dupe for the MAC 225); 6 Royal Soft-Grip 155 (a flat very dense brush that I use for lining with powder); and I have the size 3 SG1250 (I also use as a crease brush, and for inner corners sometimes). I’ve been wanting a fan brush, and after my experience with these, I’ll probably go back to Michaels to buy one. The American Painter one is a pretty color and normal makeup brush size, but for some reason I just love the over-sized Royal ones. The clear base, colored tips, soft tapered grip = a really aesthetically pretty brush. Not to mention they work very well.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

