Nuts4makeup's Weblog



I Want Coconut Oil!

From what I read online, these are some of the benefits of coconut oil:

– the only oil able to penetrate the hair shaft
– can be used as a makeup remover
– can be used as an after shower oil for skin or use a small amount as a “shine serum” for hair
– helps hair grow thicker and stronger
– attracts men like flies

Ok..now I’m just making it up, but you get the point! And read the rave reviews on Makeupalley! People LOVE this stuff!

Tao mentioned she uses this as a pre-shampoo conditioning treatment on her hair and being easily influenced like I am, I immediately wanted to try it! I impulsively bought a jar of cheap coconut oil at Walmart, buuuut the main ingredient isn’t actually coconut oil, it’s petrolatum, a filler. I used the cheapo coconut oil once and it was OK, but not amazing. And I want amazing! I’ll continue to use it until I find something better.

stuff 007 copy
Not so magical…

So now I’m looking for a pure coconut oil and I’m willing to spend a little money on it but not too much money. I looked at GNC, theirs is $12.99. I found this Filipino brand [I decided to look there cuz I now in the Philippines they use this as a cure-all for everything! Arthritis? Use coconut oil! lol] for 16.99! Some of them were flavored too like banana flavor haha. My Trader Joe’s didn’t have any.

So if anyone knows where I can get some coconut oil for cheap [but not TOO cheap], please let me know! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aireen says:

    hahaha! when i was a kid i remember they put coconut oil on my hair & told me it’d make it better. i didn’t give a shit haha

    then when my hair started to turn wavy (years later) & i came to p.i. for a vacation they used it on my hair & i REALLY felt a difference! it was smooth & looked a whole lot healthier!

    in any case, hope you find what you’re looking for & if i ever run across one i’ll let you know haha

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Tao says:

    Hi gorgeous! I got my coconut oil for $17.99 at my local organic food place. however, I found this online:
    http://www.allstarhealth.com/f/natures_way-pure_extra_virgin_coconut_oil_organic.htm

    I think the oil’s only like $7 something. Good luck trying it! I know you will love the result!

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

