Nuts4makeup's Weblog



Brain Fart

Here’s a FOTD

summer 001 copy

summer 004 copy

Taken at the end of the day so it’s kinda yucky. I used the Joppa Minerals as foundation, made a wash of light golden brown over the entire lid, added liner, and blush [that’s not visible in the pic anyway!].

So I’m breaking out pretty fiercely right now and I’m trying to heal those pimples at the moment. I was going to use this as an opportunity to test out the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque, but instead I started testing out the Mario Badescu samples I received a while back [I personally just like saying the word “Badescu”, it’s a fun word! haha]. They gave me samples of the drying cream and the drying mask. I use both as a spot treatment because I’m really hesitant to put the drying mask all over my face because the name alone worries me. It’s called a DRYING mask and I don’t want it to be something that encourages my face to create more oil to make up for the dryness. I think it helps my pimples go down faster, but for pimples that are cystic [deep, big, painful], it doesn’t do much. They have another product for cystic pimples, the buffering lotion. Also, it works better if you start treating the pimple as soon as you notice it. If it has already been there for a couple days, then the drying cream doesn’t help much. The QHMJ masque and the MB drying cream/mask have similar concepts because they both use sulfur as the drying agent. Although I am using the MB right now, it’s pretty doubtful that I would go and repurchase a full size of their products since the drying cream will set you back $12 and the mask is $18, compared to around 4 dollars for Queen Helene. Not to mention, even the sample lasts a reallly long time! I should start testing out the QH mask sometime soon tho or else it might never get touched! and then I bought it for nothing…haha

I believe this crazy breakout I’m experiencing is a result of stress, hormones and not drinking enough water lately so hopefully I can get my skin to calm down in the next couple weeks or so. I also started using Dickinson’s Witch Hazel as a toner after cleansing. I honestly don’t know if it makes a difference though because I feel like my skin issues were too big for toner to tackle on its own. I do like swiping over my face with a cotton pad though and seeing all the stuff that got left behind. I’m gonna have to use up the bottle and then decide if I really need it in my routine.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mayaari says:

    I’ve tried the MB buffering lotion, and it worked really well on the cystic pimples that I used to get – they can’t really mail out a sample of it, since it’s really runny and would likely spill, but if applied right as you start to feel the pimple coming up (when you feel a faint bump/skin looks red or feels tender) the buffering lotion keeps it from surfacing and most of the time they disappear within 3-4 days. I think it’s $17 for a small bottle, but you only need a little and it’s worth the money to avoid having pimples that won’t go away for weeks 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * nuts4makeup says:

    I don’t get cystic pimples as much as I used too, but I do agree that it’s best to get rid of it using some sort of treatment cuz otherwise it’s gonna be there foreverrr

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

