Nuts4makeup's Weblog



CS Gel Liner Review pt. 2

Left side of the picture – Mary Kay Signature Eye Primer
Right side of the picture – Urban Decay Primer Potion
10 minute mark
Yeah, the MK side pretty much starting smudging immediately!

From 2008-12-28

MK primer side, I didn’t know the UDPP because it’s basically the same
After 1 hour

From 2008-12-28

After 8 hours

From 2008-12-28

MK primer smudgy, oily mess [but the UDPP side isn’t budging]

From 2008-12-28

I did another experiment where I used the MK primer plus mineral veil all over the lid, and then I topped the liner with eyeshadow to set it. I don’t have pictures because my camera died, but after about 6 hours the liner transfered onto my lid a bit, not as bad as just the primer on its own tho, but not as good as with UDPP. But I felt that I could wipe off the smudge and blot the oil and it wouldn’t really be noticeable.

So I’m kinda disappointed that it doesn’t work with the Mary Kay primer alone because that’s my “everyday” primer since I don’t want to use my UDPP everyday considering the cost. Also, when I use the MK primer alone and liquid liner, it’s fine and doesn’t crease or smudge so…yeah. I don’t know for sure, because I don’t have MAC blacktrack, but if Coastal Scents is going to claim that their lineer is as good as MAC’s then I would have thought it would perform better than that. If anyone knows about a eyeshadow primer that rivals UDPP or Too Faced Shadow Insurance, but that’s less expensive, please let me know!

Other than my issues with it’s performance…it’s true that a little goes a long way and the color is very pigmented, a true black. I’ll give it a 4/5..but the rating is higher just cuz I think gel lining is fun! hah

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * chesamao says:

    Did you just use eyeliner? No shadow or anything? I’m considering buying Urban Decay primer potion because I have oily eyelids and my eyeliner never stays -___-. Usually I just wear eyeliner and I’m wondering if UDPP would help

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
    • * nuts4makeup says:

      In the pictures, I just used the primer and eyeliner, no shadow. UDPP is good if you don’t mind the price and having to dig out the rest of the primer from the curves of the tube. I hear good things about Artdeco, but that’s in the UK or something and also Lumene eye makeup base. They’re suposed to carry Lumene at Ulta, I’m gonna look for it next time I go there.

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * chesamao says:

    Thank you (:

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

