Nuts4makeup's Weblog



Is Mineral Makeup Drying to the Skin?

I always wondered why when I wake up in the morning, my t-zone is oily and my cheeks are normal BUT when I come home from a day of wearing makeup, my whole face will be oily. I think my makeup is the cause…

I found this article on the Viva Woman blog saying that mineral makeup actually has ingredients that cause skin to be oily. Now every magazine or makeup how-to book say that to combat oil throughout the day, use powder on your face. So I thought I was doing the right thing by using a powder foundation, but I guess mineral makeup wasn’t what they had in mind. They say it’s due to the ingredients in mineral makeup that act as a sunscreen such as titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. The article says that even Paula Begoun, the “cosmetics cop,” warns against the drying effects of mineral makeup.

I’m sure not every brand of mineral makeup has these ingredients, and there are brands like Silk Naturals which contains silk that is a hydrating ingredient. Maybe mineral makeup should be reserved for those with more normal type skin. I’ve been thinking about using liquid foundation for a while now, but I never had a concrete reason to make a switch…until now. I still want to try out the Silk Naturals foundation, since it has silk in it, but for now I’m not touching the current mineral foundation I have! Because I don’t want to take the risk. It makes a lot of sense to me because it seems that the more mineral foundation I put on my face, the more oiliness I would have later on.

What are your thoughts? Do you prefer one type of foundation over another? Does anyone know of a good liquid foundation I should try? 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Alma says:

    Ive heard from youtube that makeup forever is a good liquid foundation.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
    • * nuts4makeup says:

      Yeh! I heard that too…but it’s so expensive! 40 bucks a bottle! =/

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  2. * fuzkittie says:

    I totally agree with some of those findings, that’s why I stopped using mmu!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

