Nuts4makeup's Weblog



Custom Nail Polish!

I stumbled upon this blog where someone creates her won nail polish colors and I thought it was freaking genius! And yeh I sorda broke my lent thing at the same time, but at least it got me to post right? ๐Ÿ™‚

The blog is drfrankenpolish and it’s called “franken-ing” because you take a bunch of little parts and put them together to make something new! I thought this was a great way to get colors I can’t find at the store or to finally use polish that is sitting around being wasted.

I started with these colors. As you can see I used cheap Jordana nail polishes and a Bath and Body Works polish that is really old and I think I only used it like 3 times before I was tired of it. The last color on the far right is a really cheapy polish from one of those makeup kit things. The base is the light color on the far left, its a sheer shimmery color and I didn’t realize it was sheer until swatching it later…

From franken1

I was going for a taupe color or “greige” as nail polish connoisseurs like to call it. But instead I ended up with a sorda lavender color. I guess the base had a lot of purple undertones I wasn’t aware of.

From franken1
From franken1

I added a real purple color to it later because I didn’t want it to be so sheer. This is what 3 coats looks like…

From franken1

Exciting right?! And it’s a good way to recycle polish bottles by cleaning them out with nail polish remover so you could make an all new color inside or using a partially full bottle and adding to it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Stargirl says:

    Yay! Welcome to the wonderful world of Frankening!! It’s so much fun. I hope you make more. ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

